Blogathons

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Blogathon is Here!

37

To say that I have a lot going on in my life at the moment is an understatement. I’ve gone from a part-time job working only two days a week to having two days off (if I’m lucky), and in addition I’ve been watching movies as fast as I can before FilmStruck shuts down, all while also watching one noir a day for #Noirvember and squeezing in some movies on TCM, which I finally have again as my solution to losing FilmStruck. As a result of my hectic life at the moment, the three blogathons that I’m slated to participate in this month unfortunately haven’t been in the forefront of my mind as much as I want them to be, but I’m determined to find a balance between all of these things, especially when someone who I admire like Hedy Lamarr is concerned. No matter what else I have going on, my feelings for Hedy and my overwhelming desire to give such an astonishing star a proper tribute comes first. I can’t wait for her 104th birthday tomorrow, and I can’t wait to read all of the fantastic contributions to her memory that I’ve listed below! If you’ve finished your own entry, please comment on this post or on the blogathon’s announcement with a link.

The Stop Button starts things off right by penning a refreshing and honest review of Hedy in Experiment Perilous (1944).

1

Pale Writer gives us an incredible double feature devoted to two of Hedy’s finest films. The first post highlights one of her more lighthearted roles in the MGM classic Ziegfeld Girl (1941).

64

Pale Writer‘s second review discusses Hedy’s first American feature film that skyrocketed her to stardom, Algiers (1938).

ALGIERS, Joseph Calleia, Hedy Lamarr, 1938

Crítica Retrô muses about horoscopes and Hedy Lamarr’s performance in The Heavenly Body (1944).

64

I ring in Hedy’s birthday with my analysis of one of Hedy’s smartest roles in Comrade X (1940).

comradeX_MBDCOXX_EC001_H.JPG

Overture Books and Film highlights Lamarr in her brief but brilliant role in Boom Town (1940).

64

The Wonderful World of Cinema discovers a Hedy Lamarr film for the first time, which is appropriately Lamarr’s first picture, Ecstasy (1933).

58

Taking Up Room takes a look at Hedy’s life and scientific work in her review of Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story (2017).

57

Stay tuned for more blogathon entries honoring this raven-haired goddess of cinema!

11 thoughts on “Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Blogathon is Here!

    1. Yay! I’m so honored that you discovered Hedy because of this blogathon! I think that’s so cool, and it really makes the event worth it to me. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment